“1999 Winner - Duke Ellington.” The Pulitzer Prizes, www.pulitzer.org/winners/duke-ellington.
“2PAC.” Umusicpub.com, www.umusicpub.com/us/Artists/OTHER/2-Pac.aspx.
Adams, Dart. “How Run-DMC's Iconic Debut Album Ushered in a New Era in Hip-Hop.” Okayplayer, NPR and Producers I Know, 11 Aug. 2020, www.okayplayer.com/music/run-dmc-debut-album-impact-history-1984.html.
Amoako, Aida. “Strange Fruit: The Most Shocking Song of All Time?” BBC, 17 Apr. 2019, https://www.bbc.com/culture/article/20190415-strange-fruit-the-most-shocking-song-of-all-time
“Aretha Franklin.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 22 Jan. 2021, www.biography.com/musician/aretha-franklin.
Ayorinde, Christine. “Alicia Keys.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89406252&site=eds-live.
Berlin, Ed. “Joplin Biography.” SCOTT JOPLIN RAGTIME FESTIVAL, www.scottjoplin.org/joplin-biography.html.
Bernard, Vincent. “The Cardi B Effect: Why Hip Hop's ‘It Girl’ Leverages Fame and Publicity for Success.” Black Enterprise, Black Enterprise, 2 Apr. 2019, www.blackenterprise.com/cardi-b-hip-hop-music/.
“Biggie Smalls.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 14 Jan. 2021, www.biography.com/musician/biggie-smalls
Biography.com Editors. “Cab Calloway Biography.” Biography.com, 15. Sept. 2020, https://www.biography.com/musician/cab-calloway
Biography.com Editors. “Dizzy Gillespie Biography.” Biography.com, 2 Apr., 2014, https://www.biography.com/musician/dizzy-gillespie
Biography.com Editors. “Jelly Roll Morton Biography.” Biography.com, 2 Apr. 2014, https://www.biography.com/musician/jelly-roll-morton
“Biography.” Louis Armstrong Home Museum, www.louisarmstronghouse.org/biography/
Blackkudos. “W. C. Handy.” Black Kudos, 29 Mar. 2020, blackkudos.tumblr.com/post/613907198754619392/w-c-handy
Blalock, Kay J. “Tupac Shakur.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89098645&site=eds-live.
Bowers, Delbert S. “Stevie Wonder.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89409505&site=eds-live
Bourne, Kevin. “TUPAC STILL INFLUENCING CULTURE 20 YEARS LATER.” SHIFTER Magazine, 10 Jan. 2017, shiftermagazine.com/music/tupac-still-influencing-culture-20-years-later#:~:text=Tupac%20has%20been%20one%20of,double%20album%20in%20hip%2Dhop
Braboy, Mark. “Drake Is the Artist of the Decade.” Insider, Insider, 13 Dec. 2019, www.insider.com/drake-artist-of-the-decade-2010s-2019-12
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Alicia Keys". Encyclopedia Britannica, 21 Jan. 2021, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Alicia-Keys Accessed 1 February 2021.
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Billie Holiday". Encyclopedia Britannica, 13 Jul. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Billie-Holiday Accessed 2 February 2021.
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Dizzy Gillespie". Encyclopedia Britannica, 2 Jan. 2021, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Dizzy-Gillespie Accessed 1 February 2021.
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Fats Domino". Encyclopedia Britannica, 20 Oct. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Fats-Domino Accessed 1 February 2021.
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "JAY-Z". Encyclopedia Britannica, 30 Nov. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Jay-Z Accessed 1 February 2021.
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. “Jelly Roll Morton.” Encyclopedia Britannica, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Jelly-Roll-Morton
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Louis Armstrong". Encyclopedia Britannica, 10 Dec. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Louis-Armstrong Accessed 2 February 2021.
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "W.C. Handy". Encyclopedia Britannica, 12 Nov. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/W-C-Handy Accessed 2 February 2021.
Brattin, Joel J. “Jimi Hendrix.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=88831646&site=eds-live.
“Cab Calloway.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 15 Sept. 2020, www.biography.com/musician/cab-calloway.
Caffrey, Cait. “Public Enemy (Music Group).” Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89402579&site=eds-live.
Cirisano, Tatiana. “Billboard Impact Honoree Alicia Keys on Lifting Up Women With She Is the Music.” Billboard, 13 Dec. 2019, www.billboard.com/articles/columns/hip-hop/8545942/alicia-keys-impact-honoree-billboard-women-in-music-interview#:~:text=She%20Is%20the%20Music's%20work,with%20artists%20like%20Mary%20J.
Cooper, Amy. “How Tupac Shakur Changed Hip-Hop Forever.” 105.1 The Bounce, 16 June 2017, 1051thebounce.com/2017/06/16/how-tupac-shakur-changed-hip-hop-forever/.
Cunningham, John M.. "Rihanna". Encyclopedia Britannica, 22 Oct. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Rihanna. Accessed 1 February 2021.
Davis, Arianna. “Rihanna's Already Changed The Music Industry & She's Only 30.” Rihanna Power And Influence On Music, Fashion, Beauty, www.refinery29.com/en-us/2018/02/190972/rihanna-birthday-music-fashion-influence-power.
Deal, David. “How Rihanna Has Changed the Game for the Music, Fashion & Beauty Industries.” Medium, Medium, 22 Jan. 2019, davidjdeal.medium.com/how-rihanna-has-changed-the-game-for-the-music-fashion-beauty-industries-7e640217c645#:~:text=Rihanna's%20evolution%20as%20a%20personal,a%20winner%20of%20multiple%20awards
Dewey, Joseph. “Usher.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=93788287&site=eds-live
“Diana Ross.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 19 Jan. 2021, www.biography.com/musician/diana-ross
“Dizzy Gillespie Collection: Extended Biography.” University of Idaho Library, https://www.ijc.uidaho.edu/gillespie_dizzy/bio.html
“Duke Ellington.” Duke Ellington | Songwriters Hall of Fame, www.songhall.org/profile/Duke_Ellington.
Elafros, Athena. "Combs, Sean." Grove Music Online. July 10, 2012. Oxford University Press. Date of access 1 Feb. 2021, https://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/grovemusic/view/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.001.0001/omo-9781561592630-e-1002224059
“Fats Domino.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 10 Sept. 2020, www.biography.com/musician/fats-domino.
Fensterstock, Alison. “Playlist: The Roots, and the Reach, of Fats Domino.” NPR Music, NPR, 28 Oct. 2017, https://www.npr.org/sections/therecord/2017/10/28/560379013/playlist-the-roots-and-the-reach-of-fats-domino
Freudensprung, Macey M. “Beyoncé Knowles.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89403849&site=eds-live
Grove, Rashad D. “How Snoop Dogg's 'Doggystyle' Redefined West Coast Hip-Hop.” Highsnobiety, 26 Nov. 2018, www.highsnobiety.com/p/snoop-dogg-doggystyle-25th-anniversary/
Guity, JaJuan M. Morris -. “Let's Talk About It: How Usher's ‘Confessions’ Shifted R&B Music Forever.” Medium, Medium, 16 Nov. 2019, medium.com/@jajuanmmorrisguity/lets-talk-about-it-how-usher-s-confessions-shifted-r-b-music-forever-a29a04d227a
Harmon, Angela. “The Temptations (Music Group).” Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89402657&site=eds-live
Hilton, Robin, et al. “The 2010s: 5 Ways Beyoncé Defined The Decade In Music.” NPR, NPR, 15 Oct. 2019, www.npr.org/2019/10/07/767903285/the-2010s-5-ways-beyonc-defined-the-decade-in-music
Inman, DeMicia. “10 Years After 'Pink Friday,' A Look At Nicki Minaj's Enduring Legacy.” Nylon, Nylon, 23 Nov. 2020, www.nylon.com/entertainment/nicki-minaj-pink-friday#:~:text=With%20a%20personality%20that%20commands,industry%20standards%20both%20in%20and.
“James Brown.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 22 Jan. 2021, www.biography.com/musician/james-brown.
"Jelly Roll Morton." New World Encyclopedia, 2 May 2018, https://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Jelly_Roll_Morton
Jensen, Jeffry. “Aretha Franklin.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=90669576&site=eds-live.
John Birks "Dizzy" Gillespie. www.arts.gov/honors/jazz/john-birks-dizzy-gillespie.
Kelley, Frannie. “Biggie Smalls: The Voice That Influenced A Generation.” NPR, NPR, 2 Aug. 2010, www.npr.org/2010/08/02/128916682/biggie-smalls-the-voice-that-influenced-a-generation.
Kennedy, Gerrick D. “The Moment N.W.A Changed the Music World.” Los Angeles Times, Los Angeles Times, 13 Jan. 2018, www.latimes.com/entertainment/music/la-et-ms-nwa-parental-discretion-20171205-htmlstory.html.
Kautz, Justin. "N.W.A". Encyclopedia Britannica, 3 May. 2018, https://www.britannica.com/topic/NWA. Accessed 1 February 2021.
Lawrence, Jacob. “Man on a Scaffold.” Jacob Lawrence, 1985, artappreciationat.wordpress.com/lawrences-artwork/man-on-a-scaffold/
Lipsitz, George. "James Brown". Encyclopedia Britannica, 21 Dec. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/James-Brown-American-singer. Accessed 1 February 2021.
“Little Richard.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 9 May 2020, www.biography.com/musician/little-richard.
“Lizzo.” GRAMMY.com, 8 Dec. 2021, https://www.grammy.com/grammys/artists/lizzo/251879
“Lizzo Biography.” Edited by Biography.com, Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 4 Jan. 2022, https://www.biography.com/musician/lizzo
“Ludacris.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 19 May 2020, www.biography.com/musician/ludacris
Marie, Erika. “Ludacris Talks His Influence: ‘I Think I Brought A Certain Light To Hip Hop.’” HotNewHipHop, HotNewHipHop, 7 May 2020, www.hotnewhiphop.com/ludacris-talks-his-influence-on-the-industry-i-think-i-brought-a-certain-light-to-hip-hop-news.109932.html.
Mazzei, Michael. “Jay Z.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=93788037&site=eds-live.
“Michael Jackson.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 14 Jan. 2021, www.biography.com/musician/michael-jackson.
Mihalka, Matthew. “Snoop Dogg.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89408996&site=eds-live.
Miller, Kassundra. “Michael Jackson.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89098600&site=eds-live
“Missy Elliott.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 2 Dec. 2020, www.biography.com/musician/missy-elliott.
Moore, Camille, et al. “10 Things You Didn't Know about Tyler Cole.” TVOvermind, 17 July 2020, https://tvovermind.com/tyler-cole/.
Murray, Charles Shaar. "Jimi Hendrix". Encyclopedia Britannica, 23 Nov. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Jimi-Hendrix. Accessed 1 February 2021.
“Nelly.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 19 May 2020, https://www.biography.com/musician/nelly.
“Nelly Biography, Songs, & Albums.” AllMusic, https://www.allmusic.com/artist/nelly-mn0000861351/biography.
Novod, Eric. “Charley Pride.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89407774&site=eds-live.
Ossman, David. “Jazz Profiles from NPR Cab Calloway.” Edited by Dan Gediman, NPR, NPR, legacy.npr.org/programs/jazzprofiles/archive/calloway.html.
Pavlakos, Louis. “How Drake Changed the Landscape of Music in the 2010s.” The Concordian, 14 Jan. 2020, theconcordian.com/2020/01/ode-to-drake/.
“Public Enemy.” TeachRock, teachrock.org/people/public-enemy/
Rasmussen, Fred. “Eubie Blake Made Ragtime Respectable Music: The Son of Former Slaves Started out Playing Piano in Baltimore Bawdy Houses and Later Wrote Five Broadway Shows and Hundreds of Songs.” Baltimoresun.com, 12 Oct. 2018, www.baltimoresun.com/news/bs-xpm-1998-03-29-1998088051-story.html.
Reeves, Mosi. “8 Ways Tupac Shakur Changed the World.” Rolling Stone, Rolling Stone, 16 Jan. 2019, www.rollingstone.com/music/music-news/8-ways-tupac-shakur-changed-the-world-128421/.
Register, P. Brent. “Diana Ross.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89408323&site=eds-live
“Sean ‘Diddy’ Combs.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 26 June 2020, www.biography.com/musician/sean-puffy-combs.
Schmitz, Matthew. “Run-D.M.C.” Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89408556&site=eds-live.
Soulsby, Nick. “Nicki Minaj Is the Greatest Rapper of the Decade Bar None.” PopMatters, PopMatters, 12 May 2020, www.popmatters.com/nicki-minaj-greatest-rapper-decade-2645966150.html.
Strother, Eric S. “Notorious B.I.G.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89872146&site=eds-live.
Syndicated Content. “County Music Legend Charlie Pride Dead at 86 from COVID-19.” WNCY, 12 Dec. 2020, https://wncy.com/2020/12/12/country-music-legend-charley-pride-dead-at-86-from-covid-19/
Tate, Greg. "Public Enemy". Encyclopedia Britannica, 14 Jan. 2021, https://www.britannica.com/topic/Public-Enemy. Accessed 2 February 2021.
“The Temptations.” Classic Motown, 4 Mar. 2016, classic.motown.com/artist/the-temptations/.
Toop, David. "NWA." Grove Music Online. 2001. Oxford University Press. Date of access 1 Feb. 2021, https://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/grovemusic/view/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.001.0001/omo-9781561592630-e-0000046874
“Tupac Shakur.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 6 Jan. 2021, www.biography.com/musician/tupac-shakur.
Turner, Kristen. Theodore Drury and the Dilemmas of Race, Class, and Music at the Opera House, 2016, www.musicologynow.org/2016/12/theodore-drury-and-dilemmas-of-race.html.
Tv, Revolt. “How Missy Elliott's Influence Impacted an Entire Generation.” REVOLT, REVOLT, 27 Aug. 2019, www.revolt.tv/2019/8/27/20852729/how-missy-elliott-s-influence-impacted-an-entire-generation#:~:text=With%20more%20than%2030%20million,been%20able%20to%20achieve%20this.
“Usher.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 30 Sept. 2020, www.biography.com/musician/usher.
“Visionary Missy Elliott Pushes Boundaries and Makes History.” National Museum of African American Music, 23 Aug. 2019, nmaam.org/2019/08/22/visionary-missy-elliott-pushes-boundaries-and-makes-history/.
Washington, Quentin D. “Rihanna.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=93788208&site=eds-live.
Wasserman, Casey. “James Brown.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89098540&site=eds-live.
“Whitney Houston.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 14 Jan. 2021, www.biography.com/musician/whitney-houston.
Whitney Houston (1963--). (2012). In L. Bracks, African American almanac : 400 years of triumph, courage and excellence. Visible Ink Press. Credo Reference: http://ezproxy.ferrum.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/vipaaalm/whitney_houston_1963/0?institutionId=2564
“Who Is Tyler Cole? Everything You Need to Know.” Tyler Cole – Bio, Facts, Family Life, Achievements, https://www.thefamouspeople.com/profiles/tyler-cole-48900.php.
Williams, Richard. "Stevie Wonder". Encyclopedia Britannica, 9 Oct. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Stevie-Wonder. Accessed 1 February 2021.
Winner, Langdon C.. "Little Richard". Encyclopedia Britannica, 1 Dec. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Little-Richard. Accessed 1 February 2021.
Yannow, Scott. “Jelly Roll Morton.” Allmusic.com, https://www.allmusic.com/artist/jelly-roll-morton-mn0000317290/biography
Yeung, Z. “Willow Smith Biography, Songs, & Albums.” AllMusic, https://www.allmusic.com/artist/willow-smith-mn0002588451/biography.
Zick, William. “Francis Johnson (1792-1844), African American Bugler & Bandleader.” AfriClassical, chevalierdesaintgeorges.homestead.com/JohnsonF.html.
Zick, William. “Justin Holland (1819-1887) African American Composer, Guitarist & Teacher.” AfriClassical, chevalierdesaintgeorges.homestead.com/holland.html.
