History

Newsbank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.

Contains more than 1,000 fully searchable printed works from the beginning of Jim Crow to post-World War I. These works provide insights into African American culture and life during this period of segregation and disenfranchisement and include such topics as African American identity, relationships with peoples of other nations, and literature.

Contains nearly 1,400 fully searchable printed works from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow. It includes documents related to African Americans and citizenship, voting rights, literacy, land rights, employment, and more, including the gaps between written law and practice.

Accesses articles from American newspapers from 1758-2011.

Black Life in America: The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

Contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters, memoirs, The collection also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.

The Ferrum College collection contains items from the archives of the college's Blue Ridge Institute & Museum, Virginia's State Center for Blue Ridge Folklore. Ferrum's entries in the Digital Library of Appalachia include images, documents, and recordings documenting traditional culture (customs, crafts, music, storytelling, material culture, etc.) primarily in southwest Virginia and the southern Virginia Blue Ridge.

The most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Collections cover the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II through the 21st century, providing unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time with more than 124,000 indexed, declassified government documents

50,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in American between 1639 and 1800. Includes 1,100 supplemental works printed between 1670 and 1800 from the Library Company of Philadelphia.

Painstakingly assembled from hundreds of sources, EENA documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.

Index created from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.” Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

Find historic articles from Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. Coverage includes the Civil War and Reconstruction eras (1857-1877).

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Hispanic Life in America: The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media.

This database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Humanities International Complete includes full text for more than 1,230 journals. NOT ALL RESULTS ARE FULL-TEXT.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters from Colonial Times to 1950. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Includes Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, 1824-2003, Congressional Research Digital Collection, 1830-2003, US Serial Set Digital Collection, 1789-1969, and Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1939.

Provides access to all the information from 44 Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database, as well as to articles from approximately 375 leading magazines; many are peer reviewed.

Check here for newspaper articles from all over Virginia during the 18th and 19th centuries. The entries here make ideal primary resources for historical research.

Coverage spans from 1972 and earlier to the present and contains the following database files: Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.

Indexes academic journals, magazines, reports and books across disciplines, and includes the full text of over 5,700 active peer reviewed journals. Includes more than 77,000 videos from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to the present.

A digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.

Offering 2 million searchable and downloadable images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with detailed descriptions of each piece, for academic use. It is divided into a Public Collection, with images free for downloading without a subscription or login, and a subscription Core Collection, featuring downloadable images from museums, artists, libraries, scholars, and photo archives.

Full text of Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, Archaeology Odyssey, and New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land, Vol. 5, as well as other resources.

Early Modern Books covers material from the British Isles and Europe for the period 1450-1700. An integrated search across both Early English Books Online and Early European Books allows scholars to view materials from over 225 source libraries worldwide. EEBO's content draws on authoritative short-title catalogues of the period and features many text transcriptions specially created for the product. Content from Europe covers the curated Early European Books Collections from 4 national libraries and London's Wellcome Library.

Find streaming videos in every subject area.

Abstract database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, theses and dissertations and other sources. NOT ALL RESULTS ARE FULL-TEXT.

The Gilded Age brings primary documents and scholarly commentary together into a searchable collection. In addition to an extensive selection of key treatises that reflect the social and cultural ferment of the late nineteenth century, The Gilded Age offers a wealth of rare materials, including songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera. This primary content is enhanced by video interviews with scholars and numerous topical critical documentary essays specially commissioned for the project by Alexander Street Press. Covering such themes as race, labor, immigration, commerce, western expansion, and women’s suffrage, these essays illuminate the rapidly changing cultural landscape of America during the decades between the end of the Civil War and the election of Theodore Roosevelt.

ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

Includes: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; NAACP Papers; Southern Life, Slaver, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women’s Studies; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics

This collection includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.

North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them.

Known commonly as the "OED," the Oxford English Dictionary has long been an authority in the defining of English words.

Collects thousands of reference entries from a wide selection of Oxford encyclopedia, dictionaries, images, and other reference sources.

Provides access to full historical runs from approximately 1997 to 2019 for over 325+ journals published by Oxford University Press.

Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. Periodicals Archive Online contains over 700 journals comprising more than 3 million articles and 15 million article pages.

Indexes 479 American and English periodicals from (1802-1906). PDF version of original print index provided by Hathi Trust.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 125,000 pages of text and 50 hours of video at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics.

Indexing of 3,000+ and full-text of over 700 journals in sociology and social work, including topics such as political sociology, rural and urban sociology, social psychology, religious faith, demography, substance abuse, and other social or behavioral issues.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.