Academy of American Poets. (n.d.). Ishmael Reed. Poets.org. Retrieved January 21, 2022, https://poets.org/poet/ishmael-reed.
Aaron, Darian. "E. Lynn Harris & Me: Novelist Rashid Darden Reflects On The Legacy Of ‘Invisible Life’ Author." The Reckoning, February 9, 2021, https://www.thereckoningmag.com/the-reckoning-blog/e-lynn-harris-amp-me-novelist-rashid-darden-reflects-on-the-legacy-of-invisible-life-author.
“Barack Obama.” The Largest, Oldest, and Most Popular Online Bookstore Dedicated to Selling Books by or about People of African Descent ★, https://aalbc.com/authors/author.php?author_name=Barack%2BObama.
“Barack Obama: Penguin Random House.” PenguinRandomhouse.com, https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/authors/22627/barack-obama/.
Bates, Karen Grigsby. "Octavia Butler: Writing Herself into the Story." NPR, 10 July 2017, https://www.npr.org/sections/codeswitch/2017/07/10/535879364/octavia-butler-writing-herself-into-the-story.
Biography.com Editors. “Zora Neale Hurston Biography.” Biography.com, 2 April 2014, https://www.biography.com/writer/zora-neale-hurston.
Biography.com Editors. "Alice Walker." Biography, January 21, 2018, https://www.biography.com/writer/alice-walker.
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "African-American Literature". Encyclopedia Britannica, https://www.britannica.com/art/African-American-literature Accessed January 29, 2021.
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Colson Whitehead". Encyclopedia Britannica, 16 Nov. 2021, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Colson-Whitehead. Accessed 19 January 2022.
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Ishmael Reed". Encyclopedia Britannica, 18 Feb. 2021, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Ishmael-Reed. Accessed 21 January 2022.
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Toni Morrison". Encyclopedia Britannica, 20 Jan. 2021, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Toni-Morrison. Accessed 2 February 2021.
Cavanaugh, Rachel. “50 Black Writers Whose Impact Went Beyond the Page.” Stacker, 30 Jan. 30 2020, https://stacker.com/stories/3884/50-black-writers-whose-impact-went-beyond-page.
“Countee Cullen.” Bi.org, American Institute of Bisexuality, https://bi.org/en/famous/countee-cullen.
Dickersons, John. “Colson Whitehead: The Only Writer to Win Fiction Pulitzers for Consecutive Works Speaks with 60 Minutes.” CBS News, CBS Interactive, 11 July 2021, https://www.cbsnews.com/news/colson-whitehead-profile-video-60-minutes-2021-07-11/.
“Dismissed in Her Lifetime, African-American Writer Zora Neale Hurston Is Considered a Legend in Ours | CBC Radio.” CBCnews, CBC/Radio Canada, 22 May 2018, www.cbc.ca/radio/sunday/the-sunday-edition-may-20-2018-1.4663712/dismissed-in-her-lifetime-african-american-writer-zora-neale-hurston-is-considered-a-legend-in-ours-1.4668643.
Ellis, Robert P. “Robert S. Abbott.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2021. EBSCOhost, search-ebscohost-com.ezproxy.ferrum.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=89875635&site=eds-live
"Ernest J. Gaines: Master of the Novel." Academy of Achievement, last revised February 19, 2021, https://achievement.org/achiever/ernest-j-gaines/.
Feeney, Nolen. “A Brief History of How Maya Angelou Influenced Hip Hop.” Time, 28 May 2014, https://time.com/125901/maya-angelou-rap-hip-hop/
Gomez, Skyler. "Ntozake Shange, Feminist Playwright and Poet." Literary Ladies Guide. July 27, 2019,
https://www.literaryladiesguide.com/author-biography/ntozake-shange/.
Hughes, Langston. “The Negro Artist and the Racial Mountain by...” Poetry Foundation, Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/articles/69395/the-negro-artist-and-the-racial-mountain.
Hunt, Eliza. "Ta-Nehisi Coates Encourages Diversity in Storytelling." Stockton University, 1 Dec. 2021, https://stockton.edu/news/2021/pappas-visiting-scholar-ta-nehisi-coates.html.
“Jemisin, in 2018, Became the Only Writer to Win 3 Best Novel Hugo Awards in Consecutive Years.” The Largest, Oldest, and Most Popular Online Bookstore Dedicated to Selling Books by or about People of African Descent ★, https://aalbc.com/authors/author.php?author_name=N.%2BK.%2BJemisin.
Jenkins, Venita. "Essence Magazine Editor-in-Chief Emerita Susan L. Taylor Headlines 2020 MLK Celebration." University of North Carolina Wilmington, 13 Jan. 2020,
https://uncw.edu/news/2020/01/essence-magazine-editor-in-chief-emerita-susan-l.-taylor-headlines-2020-mlk-celebration.html
Jones, Beau Fly. “James Baldwin: The Struggle for Identity.” The British Journal of Sociology, Vol. 17, No. 2, June 1966, https://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/589050.pdf Accessed 29 Jan., 2021
Kennedy, Mark. "Ntozake Shange, who wrote the influential play 'For Colored Girls,' has died at 70." USA Today, October 28, 2018,
https://www.usatoday.com/story/life/books/2018/10/28/author-ntozake-shange-colored-girls-fame-has-died/1798955002/.
Kuiper, Kathleen. "Natasha Trethewey." Britannica, last revised 22 April, 2021, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Natasha-Trethewey.
Lucas, J. (2021, July 15). Ishmael Reed gets the last laugh. The New Yorker. Retrieved January 21, 2022, from https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2021/07/26/ishmael-reed-gets-the-last-laugh .
Mahoney, Luke D. “How Ralph Ellison's ‘Invisible Man’ Retold the Story of the Black American Experience for the Cultural Mainstream.” Inquiries Journal, Inquiries Journal, 1 Oct. 2015, www.inquiriesjournal.com/articles/1250/2/how-ralph-ellisons-invisible-man-retold-the-story-of-the-black-american-experience-for-the-cultural-mainstream.
McLellan, Dennis. "E. Lynn Harris dies at 54; bestselling author broke barriers writing about gay black characters." Los Angeles Times, July 25, 2009, https://www.latimes.com/local/obituaries/la-me-e-lynn-harris25-2009jul25-story.html.
McPhee, Ryan. "Ntozake Shange, Celebrated Playwright of For Colored Girls..., Dies at 70." Playbill, October 28, 2018,
https://www.playbill.com/article/ntozake-shange-celebrated-playwright-of-for-colored-girls-dies-at-70.
“Ms. Nikki Giovanni: American Poet, Writer, Commentator, Activist, and Educator.” Black Then, 27 Apr. 2018, blackthen.com/ms-nikki-giovanni-american-poet-writer-commentator-activist-educator/.
"Natasha Trethewey." Blue Flower Arts, 2022, https://blueflowerarts.com/artist/natasha-trethewey/.
"Natasha Trethewey." Poets.org, https://poets.org/poet/natasha-trethewey.
“Nic Stone.” Nic Stone Speaking Bio and Videos | The Lavin Agency Speakers Bureau, https://www.thelavinagency.com/speakers/nic-stone.
“N.K. Jemisin.” Encyclopædia Britannica, Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., https://kids.britannica.com/students/article/NK-Jemisin/633265.
"Octavia E. Butler: Telling My Stories." The Huntington, https://www.huntington.org/octavia-butler.
Parks, Michelle. "E. Lynn Harris (1955-2009)." Encyclopedia of Arkansas, last updated July 14, 2014, https://encyclopediaofarkansas.net/entries/e-lynn-harris-3282/.
“The Author.” Ernest J. Gaines Center, 9 July 2020, ernestgaines.louisiana.edu/author.
The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica. "Octavia E. Butler". Britannica, last revised 18 June 2021, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Octavia-E-Butler.
The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica. "Alice Walker." Britannica, last updated May 11, 2021, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Alice-Walker.
Terjesen, Nancy Conn. “Gwendolyn Brooks.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2021. EBSCOhost, search-ebscohost-com.ezproxy.ferrum.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=88824521&site=eds-live.
Seidlitz, Anne. “Ralph Ellison: An American Journey.” American Masters, PBS, 24 Aug. 2005, https://www.pbs.org/wnet/americanmasters/ralph-ellison-an-american-journey/587/.
Shuman, R.Baird. “Paul Laurence Dunbar.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, search-ebscohost-com.ezproxy.ferrum.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=88807385&site=eds-live.
Sparks, Karen. "Ta-Nahisi Coates." Britannica, last revised 26 Sept. 2021, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Ta-Nehisi-Coates.
Stone, Nic. “Don't Just Read about Racism-Read Stories about Black People Living.” Cosmopolitan, 1 Nov. 2021, https://www.cosmopolitan.com/entertainment/books/a32770951/read-black-books-nic-stone/.
"Susan L. Taylor." The HistoryMakers, 8 Mar. 2001, https://www.thehistorymakers.org/biography/susan-l-taylor.
Wald, Alan. “On Richard Wright’s Centennial: The Great Outsider.” Against the Current 138, Jan-Feb 2009, https://againstthecurrent.org/atc138/p2031/.
Whitted, Qiana. "Alice Walker." New Georgia Encyclopedia. Last edited October 15, 2021, https://www.georgiaencyclopedia.org/articles/arts-culture/alice-walker-b-1944/.