All Guides: HON 213 (Media and Violence): Psychology Resources

Very Helpful Databases for Psychology Research

Psychology is one of the furthest ranging areas of study. You can find information about psychology topics in literature, science, sports, and many other kinds of databases, so the OneSearch is your friend here! However, if you're trying to get to information that is specifically about psychology, here are some great databases:

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. Provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database features full-text articles on topics related to alternative medicine. Many articles are peer-reviewed..
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Indexes current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year. Title List.
Behavioral Science and Psychology Collection (Springer eBooks) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of e-books in the fields of psychology and behavioral science.

Very Helpful Print Resources in the Library (Psychology)

Pro-tip: The most recent Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is located at the desk!

Call number ranges that are your friends in this class include:

BF38-64 Philosophy. Relation to other topics
BF173-175.5 Psychoanalysis
BF176-176.5 Psychological tests and testing
BF180-198.7 Experimental psychology
BF203 Gestalt psychology
BF207-209 Psychotropic drugs and other substances
BF231-299 Sensation. Aesthesiology
BF309-499 Consciousness. Cognition.
- Including learning, attention, comprehension, memory, imagination, genius, intelligence,
  thought and thinking, psycholinguistics, mental fatigue
BF501-505 Motivation
BF511-593 Affection. Feeling. Emotion
BF608-635 Will. Volition. Choice. Control
BF636-637 Applied psychology
BF638-648 New Thought. Menticulture, etc.
BF660-685 Comparative psychology. Animal and human psychology
BF692-692.5 Psychology of sex. Sexual behavior
BF697-697.5 Differential psychology. Individuality. Self
BF698-698.9 Personality
BF699-711 Genetic psychology
BF712-724.85 Developmental psychology. Including infant psychology, child psychology, adolescence, adulthood
BF725-727 Class psychology
BF795-839 Temperament. Character
BF839.8-885 Physiognomy. Phrenology
BF889-905 Graphology. Study of handwriting

Click below for the latest from...