It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HON 213 (Media and Violence): Media & Communications Resources
This guide provides assistance for the HON 213 class in finding information about important topics in media and violence, research, and citation tools.
One day, when you are solving the world’s communications problems or producing award-winning journalism, these resources will cost you thousands of dollars and you’ll be expected to use them. But while you’re in college, the library foots the bill, and you can take advantage of them for your research projects. We highly recommend it.
Look in thousands of journal and magazine articles about business-related topics, including commentaries about business practice.
Covers topics related to accounting, economics, finance, management and management information systems, marketing and international business and also provides economic reports from other countries using Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch. Over 2,700 full-text titles, plus 881 full-text peer-reviewed publications.
Factiva provides full-text news articles and business/industry information from newswires, newspapers, business and industry magazines, television and radio transcripts, financial reports, and photos from news services. Most content is HTML, though other formats are available for export. News sources 1979-present; financial data 1960s-present.
Factiva provides full-text news articles and business information. From the Search tab, use the Free Text search box to explore an archive of over 50 years of news and other sources.
From the News Pages tab, you can browse current issues of major newspapers and business magazines from around the world.
From the Companies/Markets tab, you can research competitors, suppliers, customers, and partners through market data, interactive charts, financial statements, and more for individual companies or industries. Data includes current and historical pricing on a variety of financial instruments like stocks, funds, currencies, and market indexes.
The New York Times Academic Pass provides each Ferrum College student, faculty and staff member an online subscription to the nytimes.com site.
Access includes full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes mobile apps for any device, as well as their international editions. Each registered user has unlimited archival access to all years before 1923 and after 1980, and five articles per day for the years 1923-1980.
Call number ranges that are your friends in this class include:
HM621-656 = Sociology - Culture
HM661-696 = Sociology - Social control
HM701 = Sociology - Social systems
HM706 = Sociology - Social structure
HN1-995 = Social history and conditions, Social problems, Social reform
LB = Theory and practice of education
LC = Special aspects of education
P87-96 = Communication. Mass media
T10.5-11.9 = Communication of technical information
T58.5-58.64 = Information technology
TK5101-6720 = Telecommunication
ZA = Information Resources
honors books for m&c resources
Media and Communication Research Methods
It is a recent text (2011) that can help you identify quantitative and qualitative research, as well as determine an article's authority. If you are interested in how scholarly research is performed or if you need to do your own research study, this book can be incredibly helpful.
Media and Cultural Studies
This s an anthology of major works in the field that features important writers on topics such as social networking, international politics, and globalization.
McQuail′s Mass Communication Theory
Written by Denis McQuail is a very important survey of Communication Research. Now in its sixth edition, McQuail devotes a lot of the text to research models, including quantitative and qualitative models, that have come to shape how journalists and communications scholars work.