British Literature Resources - ENG 363 - British Literature

While you may be researching a wide range of literature topics, you may find these library databases helpful. Let us know if you need some help accessing any of them. We'll see what we can do!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes academic journals, magazines, reports and books across disciplines, and includes the full text of over 5,700 active peer reviewed journals. Includes more than 77,000 videos from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to the present.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB)
A digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
Offering 2 million searchable and downloadable images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with detailed descriptions of each piece, for academic use. It is divided into a Public Collection, with images free for downloading without a subscription or login, and a subscription Core Collection, featuring downloadable images from museums, artists, libraries, scholars, and photo archives.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early Modern Books covers material from the British Isles and Europe for the period 1450-1700. An integrated search across both Early English Books Online and Early European Books allows scholars to view materials from over 225 source libraries worldwide. EEBO's content draws on authoritative short-title catalogues of the period and features many text transcriptions specially created for the product. Content from Europe covers the curated Early European Books Collections from 4 national libraries and London's Wellcome Library.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Humanities International Complete includes full text for more than 1,230 journals. NOT ALL RESULTS ARE FULL-TEXT.
JSTOR at Ferrum This link opens in a new window
Search Ferrum's JSTOR subscriptions including: JSTOR Arts and Sciences Archive, Ecology & Botany I Archive, JSTOR Free Early Journal Content, and Health & General Sciences Archive Collections.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore and film with the full text of more than 1,000 journals.
ProQuest Primary Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of indexes, full-text, and primary source materials, including historical newspapers and full runs of periodicals, from ProQuest.

Gale Literature Resource Center
Excellent resource for peer-reviewed criticism, biographies, reviews, and original works.
Harvard's Geoffrey Chaucer Website
This site provides materials for Harvard University's Chaucer classes in the Core Program, the English Department, and the Division of Continuing Education. (Others of course are welcome to use it.) It provides a wide range of glossed Middle English texts and translations of analogues relevant to Chaucer's works, as well as selections from relevant works by earlier and later writers, critical articles from a variety of perspectives, graphics, and general information on life in the Middle Ages. At the moment the site concentrates on the Canterbury Tales, but the longer-term goal is to create a more general Chaucer page.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free electronic books, or eBooks. Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize, archive, and distribute literary works. The mission of Project Gutenberg is: To encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks.
The Victorian Web, 1987-2020
The Victorian Web takes an approach that differs markedly from many Internet projects. Today the Internet offers many excellent resources — and we use them often! — such as Project Gutenberg, the Hathi Trust Digital Library, the Internet Archive, the Library of Congress, and British Listed Buildings. These sites take the form of archives that quite properly preserve their information in the form of separate images or entire books accessible via search tools. The Victorian Web, in contrast, presents its images and documents, including entire books, as nodes in a network of complex connections. In other words, it emphasizes the link rather than the search tool (though it has one) and presents information linked to other information rather than atomized and isolated

Where can I find physical resources or print resources in Stanley Library?

Try the following call number locations: