Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

A guide to all of Stanley Library's special collections and archives, cataloged and uncataloged.

Inge Methodist Archive

The Inge Methodist Archive as named in honor of the Rev. Dr. John Wesley (Wes) Inge, Jr. (1917-2011), area minister and Ferrum College professor. 

 

The Inge Archive is dedicated to all aspects of the Methodist Church and its services, particularly missions such as the one that helped establish what would become Ferrum College. The books and magazines are catalogued, and relate to the church and Methodism at large, Ferrum College, and the church in southwest Virginia. Uncatalogued material primarily includes photographs and memorabilia such as church buttons, coins, plaques, and awards. 

Virginia United Methodist Women Archivist

UMW Archivist

Annita Nelson

annitanelson47@gmail.com

(540) 493-3695

Methodist Collection Holdings

Item Title/Subject Author/Donor Date Description Location
Book A Crown of Service (2 copies) Tatum, Noreen Dunn 1960 History of Woman's Missionary Work-South Shelf 9
Book A Faith for Today Rall, Harris Franklin 1936 Discussion of the place of religion in the present Shelf 10
Book A History of the WSCS and the Wesleyan Service Guild Robinson, Ruth Cloyd 1967 History from 1940-1967 Shelf 10
Book A Methodist Church and Its Work Tippy, Worth M. and Kern, Paul B. 1919 Textbook for training leadership Shelf 11
Book Acts For Our Time (2 copies) Yrigoyen, Charles, Jr. 1946 Study Book on Acts-School of Christian Mission Shelf 9
Book Ageless Indies Kennedy, Raymond 1942 Story of the East Indies Shelf 9
Book AK1 and the Banner of Names Lolling, Atsuka Geda 1991 Stories from Japan Shelf 16
Book All of the Women of the Bible Deen, Edith 1955 Studies of all Women in the Bible Shelf 9
Book Along the Way (spiral bound) J & J Printers 1986 Stories by church & community workers Shelf 16
Book American Empire Haas, William H. 1940 A study of the outlying territories of the U.S. Shelf 9
Book American Missionaries 100 years of Korea World Council of Churches Jan-85 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Amos Window To God (2 copies) Kirkpatrick, Dow 1992 Study of Book of Amos-School of Christian Mission Shelf 9
Book An Enduring Legacy National Program Division 1985 Black projects directory Shelf 9
Book Angle of Vision Kimball, Charles A. 1992 Christians and the Middle East Shelf 9
Book As Among the Methodist Lee, Elizabeth Meredith 1963 History of Deaconess groups prior to unification Shelf 9
Book Baptism Eucharist Ministry World Council of Churches Apr-83 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Behind Mud Walls Wiser, William H. and Charlotte Viall 1946 Typical North India Village Shelf 9
Book Beyond Prejudice Matsumoto, Toru 1946 Story of the Church and Japanese Americans Shelf 9
Book Blind Spots Leiper, Henry Smith 1929 Experiments in the self-cure of race prejudice Shelf 9
Book Bomb that Fell on America Hagedorn, Hermann 1946 Poem on the atomic bomb-effects on mind & soul Shelf 9
Book Book of Discipline     1948 - 1968 - 1984 Shelf 31
Book Book of Discipline     1988, 1992 Shelf 31
Book Book of Hymns     Methodist Hymnals, 1932- 1966 Shelf 31
Book Brazil Dias, Zwinglio M. and Hill, Joyce 1997 Introduction to the people and churches of Brazil Shelf 9
Book By My Spirit Born, Ethel 1990 Story of Methodist Protestant women in mission Shelf 9
Book Call Drum Entwistle, Mary and Harris, Elizabeth 1928 African stories and studies for primary children Shelf 9
Book Call of the Forgotten Man Todd, Luther E. 1924 Appeal for old age support for preachers and widows Shelf 9
Book Call to Christian Stewardship Crawford, Julius Earl 1924 Study on the question of the tithe Shelf 9
Book Canada World Council of Churches Jul-82 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Candlesticks (2 copies) Born, Ethel W 2004 Methosit women home mission projects in VA 1908-2004 Shelf 16
Book Cash Book and General Journal Treasurer 1973 - 1977 VA Conf. UMW cash book and journal Drawer 42
Book China Whitehead, Raymond L & Rhea M 1978 Study guide on China Shelf 16
Book China Log Bradshaw, Annie Eloise   Life of missionary in China Shelf 9
Book Christ and Man's Dilemma Buttrick, George A. 1945 Christ as the incarnate God Shelf 9
Book Christian Mission In our Day Shafer,Luman J. 1944 Crisis, Revolution, the Postwar World Shelf 9
Book Christian Missions and Social Progress (2 copies) Dennis James S. 1897 A sociological study of foreign missions Shelf 9
Book Christianity & Wealth Smart, W.A. 1954 A look at Jesus's Teachings concerning wealth Shelf 16
Book Christianity in the Indian Crucible Asirvatham, Eddy 1945-53 Describes strengths and weakness of christianity in India Shelf 9
Book Christians in Japan Francis, Carolyn Bowen and Nakajima, John Masaaki 1989 Stories of individual Christians in Japan Shelf 9
Book Claiming the Promise Larom, Margaret S. editor 1994 African churches speak Shelf 9
Book Claiming the Promise Laron, Margaret S 1994 African Churches Speak Shelf 16
Book Committed Unto Us Lamott, Willis 1947 World evangelism and future of missions Shelf 9
Book Conduct Becoming To a Woman Magalis, Elaine 1973 History of churchwomen in the United States Shelf 9
Book Conflict & Community in the Corinthian Church Clarkson, J Shannon 1989 Study Guide Shelf 16
Book Congo Drumbeat Reid, Alexander J. 1964 Establishment of the Methodist church-central congo Shelf 9
Book Conversion World Council of Churches Jul-83 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Court Street Methodist Church Kern, Alfred A. 1951 History for centennial celebration Shelf 9
Book Creation out of Choas Women's Division, Board of Missions 1966 Resources for new groups Shelf 9
Book Daughter of China Moore, Margaret 1992 Autobiography of Jean Craig Shelf 16
Book Declaring His Glory (2 copies) Woolever, Eloise Andrews 1955 Methodist women at work around the world Shelf 9
Book Delaware Conference Journal     Journals for years 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1963 Shelf 34
Book Dimensions of Prayer Steere, Douglas V. 1962 Studybook about Prayer Shelf 16
Book Dreams and Visions and other Essays Booker, George E. 1949 Essays on questions and problems of today Shelf 9
Book Ecclesiastes the Meaning of Your Life (2 copies) Kim, Hea Sun and Blakeman, Mary Lou 1995 A spiritual growth study Shelf 9
Book Ecumenical Affirmation World Council of Churches Oct-82 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Ecumenical Sharing in Mission Word Council of Churches Apr-84 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Edge of Ministry Boozer, Jack S. 1984 Chaplain Ministry of the United Methodist Church Shelf 10
Book Education for World-Mindedness Murphy, Albert John 1931 Attitudes, Motives, Appreciation between races and Nations Shelf 10
Book Equipping God's People for Mission World Council of Churches Apr-82 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Exodus the Journey to Freedom Keels, Christine & Bernard 2003 Study guide for Exodus Shelf 16
Book Family - Drawing the Circle Wide (2 copies) Craig, J. Ann and Elmiger, Linda S. 1994 Study Guide - School of Missions Shelf 10
Book Feminine Faces Chappell, Clovis G. 1942 Stories of women in the Bible Shelf 10
Book Ferrum College The Beacon Staff 1993 1993 Beacon Shelf 10
Book Ferrum College The Beacon Staff 1994 1994 Beacon Shelf 10
Book For the Healing of the Nations VanDusen, Henry P. 1940 Work of christian forces in the outposts of civilization Shelf 10
Book Free India Ebright, Donald F. 1954 Account of the 1947 riots, refugees in India Shelf 10
Book Freedom is For Freeing ( 2 copies) Potter, Philip and Barbel 1990 A study book on Paul's letter to the Galations Shelf 10
Book From Memory to Hope Born, Ethel W 1999 History of the areas of the World Federation of Methodist Women Shelf 16
Book From the Heart of Africa Lotspeich, Helen Farrier 1981 Missionary life in Africa Shelf 10
Book General Ledger Treasurer 1971 - 1973 VA Conf. School of Christian Mission Drawer 42
Book God Speaks to Women Today Price, Eugenia 1964 Examining God's actions in the lives of Bible women Shelf 10
Book Golden Jubilee   1886-1935 Fiftieth Ann. Of China Conference, ME Ch South Shelf 16
Book Great is The Company Wood, Violet 1947 Stories of persons that translates the Bible Shelf 10
Book Great Women of the Bible Macartney, Clarence Edward 19-- Stories of women in the Bilbe Shelf 10
Book Haiku Origami and More Newton, Judith May and Tabuchi, Mayumi 1991 Worship and study resources from Japan Shelf 10
Book Hallelujah Anyhow Kriewald, Diedra 1986 School of christian study Book
Book Handbook for Delegates     Guide for delegates to General Conferences, 1948 - 1952 - 1960 Shelf 34
Book History of Methodism Stevens, Abel 1858 History of the religious movement of the 18th century Shelf 10
Book History of Methodism Stevens, Abel 1859 Vol. II From Death of Whitefield to Death of Wesley Shelf 10
Book History of the Women's Foreign Missionary Society (2) Butler, Mrs. F. A. 1904 Work of Foreign Missions Shelf 10
Book History of WSCS and Wesleyan Service Guild Robinson, Ruth Cloyd 1967 History SEJ of the Methodist Church Shelf 16
Book Holy Moments Young, Robert T. 1985 Study guide for spiritual growth Shelf 10
Book I Was There When it Happened in China (2) White, Mary Culler 1947 Experiences of messenger of Christ in world of war Shelf 10
Book In Enemy Hands Zellers, Larry 1991 Story of a prisoner in North Korea Shelf 10
Book In the Middle of Tomorrow (3) Campbell, Barbara E. 1975 History of United Methodist Women Shelf 10
Book In Wembo-Nyama's Land Reeve, Thomas E. 1921 Story of experiences in mission in Africa Shelf 10
Book Isabella Thoburn College Dimmitt, Marjorie A. 1962 History of Isabella Thoburn College to 1961 Shelf 11
Book Japan 1931   1931 Year book and minutes of the Japan mission Shelf 10
Book Jesus Christ The Life of the World World Council of Churches Jan-82 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Jesus in the Gospel of Matthew Carter, Nancy A. 1993 Study guide for Jesus in Matthew Shelf 11
Book John Wesley Holiness of Heart and Life Yrigoyen, Charles, Jr. 1996 Study guide of historic roots of VM in John Welsey Shelf 11
Book Joshua May, Roy H, Jr 1997 Leader's guide - origins & formation Shelf 16
Book Journal of the First General Conference   1940 First Gen. Conf. Atlantic City, NJ Shelf 34
Book Journal of the General Conference   1948 Held at Boston, MA Shelf 34
Book Journal of the General Conference (Vol. 1 & 2)   1972 Held at Atlanta, GA Shelf 34
Book Journal of the General Conference (Vol. 1 & 2)   1976 Held at Portland, Oregon Shelf 34
Book Journal of the General Conference (Vol. 1 & 2)   1980 Held at Indianapolis, Indiana Shelf 34
Book Journal of the Uniting Conference   1939 Union of ME Church, M & Church, South & Methodist Protestant Church Shelf 34
Book Journal SE Jurisdictional Conference     Journals for years 1948, 1952, 1956, 1984 Shelf 34
Book Journal -Women's Division Annual Meeting BOGM   Years 2000-2003 Shelf 16
Book Journey Toward Wholeness Lyons, Cathie 1987 Study of Justice, Peace and Health-World Shelf 11
Book Just Jennie (2) White, Mary Culler 1953 Life of Virginia M. Atkinson Shelf 11
Book Korea Aflame For Christ Smith, Lillie Reed   Missionaries in Korea Shelf 11
Book Koreana Hyun, Peter 1984 Glimpse of Korea's historical legacy Shelf 16
Book Lamps in the Darkness Tawes, Roy Lawson   Devotional Resource Shelf 11
Book Latin American Lands in Focus Derby, Marian and Ellis, James E. 1961 Methodist Work in Latin America Shelf 11
Book Legacy For the Future (4) Stevens, Thelma 1978 History of Christian Social Relations-Women's Division Shelf 11
Book Life Has No Ceiling Cartwright, Frank T. 1946 A Romance of Changing China Shelf 11
Book Light in the Valley Terry, Robert H. 1987 The McCurdy mission school story Shelf 11
Book Light in The Wind (2 copies) Darr, Jackie 1984 125 Years of Mission by UMC in the SE Shelf 11
Book Memories of Scarritt (3) Gibson, Maria Layng 1928 History of Scarritt Bible and Training School Shelf 11
Book Methodist Church on Shockoe Hill Bennett, Floyd S. 1962 History of Centenary Methodist Church Richmond, VA Shelf 11
Book Methodist History Yrigoyen, Charles Jr. 1990 History of issues in the church Shelf 11
Book Methodist Women and Missions of the Eastern Shore of VA Savage, Nannie Dunton 1956 History of Eastern Shore Methodist Women Shelf 11
Book Minutes, Baltimore Annual Conf, ME South   1925 Minutes of conference, Washington DC Shelf 34
Book Missionaries of The United Methodist Church General Board of Global Ministries 1988 Pictures of missionaries Shelf 11
Book Missions Tomorrow Latourette, Kenneth Scott 1936 Conditions past and factors today in missions Shelf 11
Book Mrs. D. H. McGavock Butler, Mrs. F. A.   Life story of Mrs. D. H. McGavock Shelf 11
Book My Boyhood in a Parsonage Lamont, Thomas W. 1946 Sketches of American life last century Shelf 11
Book My Indain Family Wernher, Hilda 1943 Stories from India Shelf 11
Book My India My America Shridharani, Krishnalal 1941 Stories about India Shelf 11
Book Mythmakers Fore, William F 1990 Gospel, culture and the media Shelf 11
Book Neglected Voices Indermark, John 1999 Stories of lesser-known biblical characters Shelf 16
Book Noetbook-Bethlehem Center #1 Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Bethlehem Center #2 Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Bethlehem -Wilson Communities, Inc Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Feasibility of UMW owning property Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Ferrum College Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Henry Fork Service Center Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Mission VA-Goodson-"A String of Pearls" Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Rural Workers Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Susannah Wesley Hall-Wesley House Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-VUMAC-Blackstone Assembly Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Wesley Community Service Center #1 Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Wesley Community Service Center #2 Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Wilson Inn Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-Women's Division Reference Materials Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Notebook-WSCS Home Missions Reports Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book NotebooWinchester Project Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Shelf 50
Book Our Excellent Women Tibbals, N. 1861 Women of the Methodist church in England & America Shelf 11
Book Our Living Church Desjardins, Lucile 1936 Leader's manual vacation church school Shelf 11
Book Pattern of Things To Come McConnell, Dorothy 1955 Study on evangelism and missions Shelf 11
Book Paul Neff Garber Brown, Elmore 1978 Life story of Bishop Paul Garber Shelf 11
Book Pear Blossoms Blooming Lee, Kyung-Lim Shin 1989 Early history of School in Korea started by Women's Div. Shelf 16
Book Portrait of A Pilgram Gallagher, Buell G. 1946 Search for the christian way in race relations Shelf 14
Book Prayer The Mightiest Force in The World Lauback, Frank C. 1956 Plea for universal return to prayer Shelf 14
Book Proceeding of World Methodist Conference     For years 1956, 1976, 1981, 1986, 1991 Shelf 34
Book Remembering the Future Lodwick, Robert C. 1995 The challenge of the churches in Europe Shelf 14
Book Revive Thy Church Beginning with Me Shoemaker, Samuel M. 1948 Challenge to revitalize self, revive church & society Shelf 14
Book Rice in the Storm Asedillo, Rebecca C. and Williams, B. David 1989 Faith in struggle in the Philippines Shelf 14
Book Roads To The City of God (2) Mathews, Basil 1928 A World Outlook from Jerusalem Shelf 14
Book Roberts Rules of Order Revised Robert, Henry M. 1915 How to conduct a business meeting Shelf 16
Book Save America Tilton, Elizabeth (Editor) 1923 Information from Woman's National Comm. For Law Enforcement Shelf 14
Book Scarritt College   1974 74 Scarritt experience Shelf 14
Book Seeds of Promise Melendez, Guillermo 1990 The prophetic church in Central America Shelf 14
Book Six Decades of Service Meeker, Ruth Esther 1969 Record of Woman's Home Missionary Society Shelf 14
Book Sixth Assembly A Missionary Perkspective World Council of Churches Oct-83 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Sojourn in Mosaic Elfers, Robert A 1979 Life in the Middle East Shelf 16
Book Special Mission Recognitions   1974- 1992 List of Persons that received pins Shelf 13
Book Stories and Story Telling St. John, Edward P 1918 Instruction on the use of stories Shelf 16
Book Story of Red Bird Mission (The) Schaeffer, Roberta 1980 A history of missions in Appalachia Shelf 16
Book Tales From East and West Cobb, Margaret B. and Young, Ezra 1939 Stories of sharing faith and courage Shelf 14
Book Tales From India (2) Mathews, Basil 1938 Stories From Indian Missions Shelf 14
Book Ten Years After Bangkok World Council of Churches Jan-84 Review ofMission Shelf 10
Book That You May Have Life Bonino, Jose' Miguez and Miguez, Nestor Oscar 1989 Encounters with Jesus in John Shelf 14
Book The Annals Sellin, Thorsten 1968 Women around the world-social sciences Shelf 14
Book The Bible - Part 1 Beach, Maxine Clarke 1998 Leader's guide - Interpretation & authority Shelf 16
Book The Bible - Part 2 Beach, Maxine Clarke 1999 Leader's guide - Interpretation & authority Shelf 16
Book The Book of Resolutions of the UMC (2 copies) Methodist Publishing House 1988-1992   Shelf 16
Book The Christian Motive and Method in Stewardship Trimble, Henry Burton 1926 Stewardship-our responsibility to God Shelf 9
Book The Church and Medical Missions Brewster, Dorothy D. and Harold N. 1959 Medical missions in Africa and other lands Shelf 9
Book The Columbia Journalist Editorial Board-Brucker, Herbert, Chm. 1924 Columbia school of journalism training for newspaper work Shelf 9
Book The Community of Nations Adjali, Mia and Storms, Deborah 1995 Visioning a new future for the United Nations Shelf 9
Book The Ethical Ideals of Jesus Oxnam, G. Bromley 1941 Analysis of the validity of Jesus Ideals Shelf 10
Book The History of Hampden Methodist Protestant Church Stone, Edward Daniel 1917 Pastor's story of his church Shelf 10
Book The Kingdom Without Frontiers Martin, Hugh 1935 Missionary purpose in the Bible Shelf 11
Book The Ladies Aid Manual Smith, R.E. 1911 A Practical Work for Ladies Aid Societies Shelf 16
Book The Lower Levels of Prayer Stewart, George S. 1940 Study on Prayer Shelf 11
Book The Methodist Church in Social Thought and Action Harkness, Georgia 1964 Study of Methodism's social concerns Shelf 11
Book The Methodist Directory   1965 Name and addresses of leaders in the Methodist Church Shelf 11
Book The Missionary Education of Primary Children Stooker, Wilhelmina 1929 Textbook for missionary education Shelf 11
Book The Missionary Message of the Bible Cook, Edmund F. 1924 Guide to Bible study Shelf 11
Book The Missionary Review of the World Missionary Review Publishing Co. Feb-21   Shelf 11
Book The Missionary Review of the World Missionary Review Publishing Co. Jun-21   Shelf 11
Book The Missionary Review of the World Missionary Review Publishing Co. Nov-21   Shelf 11
Book The Missionary Review of the World Missionary Review Publishing Co. Dec-21   Shelf 11
Book The Monk Who Lived Again Pearson, B. H. 1940 A tale of South America Shelf 11
Book The Ongoing Journey Emswiler, Sharon Neufer 1977 Women and the Bible Shelf 11
Book The Role of UMW in the History of Ferrum College Musser, Louise McDaniel 1984 Ferrum's roots in Methodist tradition and UMW Shelf 14
Book The Scandalous Message of James Tamez, Elsa 1985 Study Guide to book of James Shelf 16
Book The Self-Interpretation of Jesus Carver, William Owen 1926 The personality Christ Shelf 14
Book The Social Creed of the Methodist Church Ward, A. Dudley 1961 Study of social creed Shelf 14
Book The Twain Shall Meet Haines, J. Harry 1980 Crisis situations-relief in disasters Shelf 14
Book The Use of the Story in Religious Education Eggleston, Margaret W. 1920   Shelf 14
Book The Women Came Early   1986 History of women in the West VA Conference Shelf 15
Book The Women of Methodism Stevens, Abel 1866 It's Three Foundresses Shelf 15
Book The Worker and His Bible Eiselen, F. C. and Barclay, Wade Crawford 1909 Studying the Bible Shelf 15
Book They Went Out Not Knowing (2 copies) Mission Education and Cultivation Program Dept. 1986 An Encyclopedia of 100 Women in Mission Shelf 14
Book This Is Our Song (2) Fagan, Ann 1986 Employed Women in the United Methodist Tradition Shelf 14
Book Those Incredible Methodists Baker, Gordon Pratt 1972 History of the Baltimore Conference of the UMC Shelf 14
Book To A Higher Glory (2) Task Group Central Jurisdiction   Black women organized for mission 1940-1968 Shelf 14
Book Tomorrow is Here Latourette, Kenneth Scott and Hagg, W. Richey 1948 Interpretation of the Christian World Mission Shelf 15
Book Tools for effective trainers   1998 Training materials by Women's Division Drawer 38
Book United Methodist Women in Virginia Morgan, Catherine Davis 1984 100 years of UM Women 1784-1984 Shelf 14
Book Victorious Living Jones, E. Stanley 1936 Handbook on The Christian Life Shelf 14
Book Virginia Conference Annual   1933 151st VA. Annual Conference of ME Church, South, Norfolk VA Shelf 34
Book Virginia Originals (3) UMW of The Virginia Conference 1982 Poems, Prayers, Devotions, Music and Art Shelf 14
Book Virginia Originals Too UMW of The Virginia Conference 1990 Poems, Prayers, Devotions, Music and Art Shelf 14
Book VUMAC & UMW meetings     Photo Album Shelf 13
Book We Belong Together Cunningham, Sarah 1989 Churches in solidarity with women Shelf 14
Book Wesley and His Century Fitchett, W. H.   A study in spiritual forces Shelf 14
Book What Hath God Wrought Leggett, J. W. 1964 History of Thrasher Memorial Methodist Church Shelf 14
Book When Christ Controls Versteeg, John M.   Study of relationship between the economic and the eternal Shelf 14
Book With Integrity of Heart (2) Elliott, Clifford 1989 Living values in changing times Shelf 14
Book With Stethoscope in Asia: Korea Hall, Sherwood 1978 Story of missionary doctor teams Shelf 14
Book With Unveiled Face (2) Hoover, Theressa 1983 Centennial reflections on persons in the church community Shelf 14
Book Witness Today Confession and Resistance World Council of Churches Oct-84 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Witnessing World council of Churches Jan-83 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Witnessing To God's Justice World Council of Churches Jul-84 Review of Mission Shelf 10
Book Woman in Sacred History Stowe, Harriet Beecher 1873 Women in the Bible Shelf 13
Book Woman's Foreign Missionary Society (2) Chandler, Mrs. E. G. 1920 1879-1919 Shelf 15
Book Woman's Foreign Missionary Society ME Church South   1895 Reports Shelf 25
Book Woman's Place of Service in The Church   1930 Report of Woman's Missionary Council Shelf 14
Book Women and Home Missions Dunn, Mary Noreen 1936 History Shelf 14
Book Women and The Kingdom (2) Howell, Mabel Katharine 1928 Fifty years of missionary work Shelf 14
Book Women in Alien Lands Bos, Johanna 1987 Study of Ruth and Esther Shelf 15
Book Women in Church and Society Harkness, Georgia 1972 Historical background and theological appraisal Shelf 15
Book Women in New Worlds Thomas, Hilah F. and Keller, Rosemary Skinner 1981 Historical perspectives on the Wesleyan tradition Shelf 15
Book Women in New Worlds - Volume II Keller, Rosemary Skinnerand Thomas, Hilah F. 1982 Historical perspectives on the Wesleyan tradition Shelf 15
Book Women of Scripture Moss, Arthur Bruce   Work of certain women of the Bible Shelf 15
Book Women United For Service (2) Reber, Audrie E. 1969 History of the Women's Society Evangelical United Brethren Shelf 15
Book Women's Liberation and the Church Doely, Sarah Bentley 1970   Shelf 15
Item Title/Subject Author/Donor Date Description Location
Display Cabinet     Special Pins from Individuals D
Display Emblem     WSCS - (Wooden) B
Display Emblem Southgate, Isobel   Copper plate made by Frances Reid I
Display Emblem     WSG by Sam NeSmith (Wooden) C
Display Financial Records     WSCS/WSG journal sheets (6/68-12/73) Shelf 1
Display Gavel Mr. & Mrs. Homer Humphries, Mrs. Roy D. Whitlock 1955, 1969 Presented to - VA Conf. Wesleyan S. G., WSCS Shelf 27
Display Mexican Costume     Pearl Hall H
Display Mug Born, Ethel 1984 Centennial - UMW Shelf 27
Display Picture   1949 VA Annual Conf WSCS - Trinity Methodist Church F
Display Picture   1939 Spiritual Life Retreat WSCS - Ferrum College G
Display Plaque   1994 VA Conference mission Trip - Russia A
Display Resolution of Appreciation     Jean Craig E
Display World Survey Interchurch World Movement of North America 1920 Foreign survey Shelf 13
Item Title/Subject Author/Donor Date Description Location
File Achivist - VA conference UMW     Reports to the Executive Committee Drawer 39
File Acton, Phillip John     Missionary Drawer 48
File Aldrich, Mildred     Missionary Drawer 48
File Alexandria     Information Drawer 38
File Alger, Red & Pat     Missionary Drawer 48
File Allen, Frances     Missionary Drawer 48
File Annual Meetings - UMW     Program 1973 - 2006 (incomplete) Drawer 40
File Annual meetings, WSCS and predecessor organizations     Program beginning 1912 - 1972 (incomplete) Drawer 37
File Appalachian Development Project     Mission Project Drawer 48
File Archivist - VA Conference UMW     Job description, correspondence etc. Drawer 39
File Arlington District     Information Drawer 38
File Armstrong, Dora Jane     Missionary Drawer 48
File Articles from Virginia Advocate     Sheets relating to WSCS/WSG, 1949 - 1973 Drawer 38
File Ashland District     Information Drawer 38
File Assembly Programs and Materials     Files for assemblies 1942 - 1994 Drawer 39
File Audio Tapes-Edith Denny White, 1989 Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Oral history interviews - 12 persons Drawer 45
File Auditor's Reports   1970-2000 VA Conf. WSCS - UMW Drawer 41
File Bain, M Stanley     Missionary Drawer 48
File Bitsch-Larsen, Emmanuel     Missionary Drawer 48
File Blanten, Lucy Clyde     Missionary Drawer 48
File Board of Mission & Church Extension     Programs-Council Bulletings 1943-1963, 1922-1931 incomplete Drawer 43
File Board of Missions   1947 - 1949 Minutes - Correspondence Drawer 48
File Bookman, Ada Mae     Missionary Drawer 48
File Bradford, Helen Patricia     Missionary Drawer 48
File Bradshaw, Anie Eloise     Missionary Drawer 48
File Brown Hall Meyers, Terry 2004 Mission Project-Women's Missionary Society Drawer 48
File Bulifant, Hazel     Missionary Drawer 48
File Byerly, Ruth     Missionary Drawer 48
File Carroll Palmer Estate Black, Benham, Attorney 1983 Correspondence concerning distribution Drawer 41
File Carroll, Sallie     Missionary Drawer 48
File Charlottesville District     Information Drawer 38
File Charters for Racial Justice     Copies of Charter beginning 1952 and other related materials Drawer 37
File Church, Marie     Missionary Drawer 48
File Clark, Homie     Missionary Drawer 48
File Conerly, Robert H (Bob)     Missionary Drawer 48
File Conner, Bessie M.     Missionary Drawer 48
File Cooper, Kate     Missionary Drawer 48
File Cooper, Lois     Missionary Drawer 48
File Corporation - Charter   1945 - 1973 VA Conf. School of Christian Mission Drawer 42
File Correspondence     Notes, Letters from missionaries Drawer 48
File Craig, Jean F, Estate   1999 Copies of legal papers Drawer 41
File Craig, Jean F.     Missionary Drawer 48
File Danville District     Information Drawer 38
File Deeds - Papers   1903 - var. Deeds and papers from safe deposit box Drawer 43
File Deeds & Property Documents-VA Mission Projects Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 39
File District Audits     District - WSCS - UMW (1970-Present, incomplete) Drawer 41
File Driver, Georgeanna     Missionary Drawer 48
File Early Pictures     From the file of Edith Denny White Drawer 43
File Eastern Shore District     Information Drawer 38
File Eldridge, Joe     Missionary Drawer 48
File Emblems - Awards - Certificates of Appreciation     WSCS and Wesleyan Service Guild Drawer 43
File Eye, Kathryn     Missionary Drawer 48
File Fairbanks, Betty     Missionary Drawer 48
File Farmville District     Information Drawer 38
File Ferrum College     Various material of history & program of college Drawer 39
File Finch, Mary D     Missionary Drawer 48
File Foster, Susie Peach     Missionary Drawer 48
File Global Gathering     Materials for 1987 and 1993 Drawer 39
File Goodson Lodge   1981 Funds Record Drawer 41
File Goyne, James A     Missionary Drawer 48
File Gravely, James     Missionary Drawer 48
File Gruber, Miriam Jean     Missionary Drawer 48
File Hall, Marian B     Missionary Drawer 48
File Hall, Pearl     Missionary Drawer 48
File Hanak, Paul     Missionary Drawer 48
File Handbooks - WSG     Handbooks for years 1941 - 1972 Drawer 39
File Harrisonburg District     Information Drawer 38
File Henderson Settlement     Materials relating to this mission Drawer 48
File Henry Fork Service Center     Mission Project Drawer 48
File History     WSCS, WSG, EUB Drawer 43
File Hodkins, Margaret     Missionary Drawer 48
File Hulbert, Jeannette     Missionary Drawer 48
File Inventories of Historical Materials     Church related inventories at various location - VA Conference Drawer 37
File Issues of Virginia Advocate     Issues featuring work of WSCS/WSG - 1936 - 1972 Drawer 38
File Itineration of Missionaries     Correspondence relating to various missionaries and their tenure Drawer 37
File Job Descriptions- VA Conference UMW       Drawer 45
File Johnson, Hugh     Missionary Drawer 48
File Kitchen, Theodore     Missionary Drawer 48
File Kum - BA - YAH     Mission Project Drawer 48
File Kyle, Katherine, Memorial Scholarship Fund     Minutes concerning distributions Drawer 41
File Lacy, Edith     Missionary Drawer 48
File Lake Junaluska Assemby Center     General information Drawer 48
File Laubach, Bob & Frank     Missionary Drawer 48
File Liaison Committee     Reports - Minutes Drawer 48
File Library WSCS     Correspondence 1946 - 1947 Drawer 37
File Life Membership Pin Record     Records of recipients 1929, 1930, 1974, 1975, 1976 Drawer 37
File Lynchburg District     Information Drawer 38
File Mabry, Hunter & Esther     Missionary Drawer 48
File MacKinnon, Sallie Lou     Missionary Drawer 48
File Maps     Various maps from around the world Drawer 38
File Martin, Eloise     Missionary Drawer 48
File Mayes, Susie     Missionary Drawer 48
File McAden, Robinson     Missionary Drawer 48
File McNett, Wayne Franklin     Missionary Drawer 48
File Meredith, Robert     Missionary Drawer 48
File Minutes - VA Conference Executive Committee     Minutes - 1997 complete, 1998 (Mar & July) 2002 (October) Drawer 49
File Mission Celebrations   1947 - 1956 Various misssion events of Methodist Church Drawer 37
File Missionaries - Workers - Projects     Directories of VA Conference Missionaries Drawer 48
File Missionary Support     Correspondence relating to support of missionaries Drawer 37
File Moore, Mary E     Missionary Drawer 48
File Moore, Sadie Maude     Missionary Drawer 48
File Musser, Louise     Correspondence, articles & acculades to Mrs. Musser Drawer 39
File Newsletters - WSCS     Newsletter of VA Conference WSCS (1947 - 1952) Drawer 37
File Nominations Materials     Materials and talent bank information for Nominations personnel Drawer 38
File Norfolk District     Information Drawer 38
File Officers and Project reports   1970 - 1971 Reports of Dist. Pres. & others to conference Drawer 43
File Oral History Interviews List Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Overby, Elizabeth     Missionary Drawer 48
File Palmore, Peyton L, III     Missionary Drawer 48
File Parker, Joyce & Bob     Missionary Drawer 48
File Parks, Edith     Missionary Drawer 48
File Patterson, Elizabeth     Missionary Drawer 48
File Peninsula District     Information Drawer 38
File Petersburg District     Information Drawer 38
File Pictures - Executive Committee     Group pictures - 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969 Drawer 38
File Pictures - UMW Day at the General Assembly   2003 Various pictures of event Drawer 43
File Plays, skits etc     Various drama & worship Drawer 39
File Portsmouth District     Information Drawer 38
File President File VA Conf. Born, Ethel 1972-1976   Drawer 35
File President File VA Conf. Britt, Mrs. Lee 1913-1939   Drawer 35
File President File VA Conf. Glossbrenner, Dorotht     Drawer 35
File President File VA Conf. Ravenhorst, Dorothy 1981-1984   Drawer 35
File President File VA Conf. Smith, Audrey 1977-1980   Drawer 35
File President File VA Conf. Tyrrell, Margaret 1962   Drawer 35
File President File VA Conf. White, Edith Denny 1947   Drawer 35
File President File VA Conf. Baker, Sandra 1993-1996   Drawer 36
File President File VA Conf. Compton, Pat 1997-2000   Drawer 36
File President File VA Conf. Dwyer, Evelyn 1985 -1988   Drawer 36
File Presidents Files     Correspondence, reports, etc. Drawer 35
File Quite Day - Service of Worship     Publications 1948 - 1966 (incomplete) Drawer 39
File Randolph Macon Women's College     Pictures and some information Drawer 48
File Rappahannock District     Information Drawer 38
File Re - Imagining Conference   Nov. 1993 Minneapolis, Minn. - Conference Drawer 43
File Reading Program     Lists of reading program books from 1980 - 2003 (Incomplete) Drawer 37
File Redbird     Mission Project Drawer 48
File Regional SCM   1968 - 1988 Flyers, brochures Drawer 43
File Reid, Mary Lou     Missionary Drawer 48
File Reports District Secretary     WSG - Financial and Evaluation (1961-1967) Shelf 2
File Richmond District     Information Drawer 38
File Roanoke District     Information Drawer 38
File Rosser, Mary Helen     Missionary Drawer 48
File Rowland, M Elston     Missionary Drawer 48
File Rue, Margaret     Missionary Drawer 48
File Russian Initiative Born, Ethel W 2004 Materials gathered by Ethel Born Drawer 48
File Safe Deposit Box   1973 Contract Box # 8109 Drawer 43
File Scarritt College     Pictures, Bulletins and information Drawer 48
File Schleman, Laura     Missionary Drawer 48
File School of Christian Mission   1947 - Present Records, Publicity - etc. Drawer 41
File Secretary of Program Resources     Files of Leah Thacker, 1974 - 1976 Drawer 39
File Seegars, Charlotte     Missionary Drawer 48
File SEJ Quadrennial Meetings     Materials for Meeting in 1984 and 1988 Drawer 39
File Shoemaker, Esther     Missionary Drawer 48
File Smith, Eugene     Missionary Drawer 48
File Southeastern Jurisdiction materials     Directories and Programs 1944 - 1992 (incomplete) Drawer 37
File Sparks, Dorothy     Missionary Drawer 48
File Spiritual Life Retreats     Programs and Materials 1970 - 2003 (incomplete) Drawer 39
File Standing Rules Committee     Various files and reports of the VA Conf. Committees Drawer 37
File Status of Women     Rights of Women Drawer 43
File Staunton District     Information Drawer 38
File Stevens, Catherine     Missionary Drawer 48
File Stevenson, James     Missionary Drawer 48
File Towson, Marie C     Missionary Drawer 48
File Transcription-Allene Perdue Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Transcription-Carl W. Haley Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Transcription-Dorothy B. Guill Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Transcription-Dorothy Wilber Peers Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Transcription-Ethel McNutt Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Transcription-Isobel F. Southgate Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Transcription-James & Ruth Reynolds Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Transcription-John G. Hatcher, Jr Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Transcription-Julie Woodford Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Transcription-Madise Anderson Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Transcription-Robert Wynne Born, Ethel W Aug-04 Materials from preparation of 'Candelsticks' Drawer 45
File Tyson, Dana K     Missionary Drawer 48
File Tyson, Marjorie     Missionary Drawer 48
File UMW Day at General Assembly   2005 Materials relating to UMW Day at the General Assembly Drawer 45
File UMW History     Pageant - Information Women's organizations Drawer 43
File UMW Minutes     Minutes of Exec Comm 2000 Shelf 2
File UMW Minutes     Minutes of Exec. Comm. Jan '74 - Dec '95 Shelf 3
File UMW Minutes     Minutes of Exec. Comm. 1996-1999 (1997 incomplete) Shelf 3
File Under 40 Retreat/Young Women's Weekend     Programs 1985 - 1995 Drawer 38
File VA Conference Mission Trip - Russia   1994 Picture and information - plaque presentation Drawer 48
File Virginia Original Too     Original files and records from 1990 Publication Drawer 39
File VUMAC     VA UM Assembly Center information Drawer 48
File Wang, Lucy     Missionary Drawer 48
File Wesley Community - Portsmouth     Mission Project Drawer 48
File Wesley House - Danville     Mission Project Drawer 48
File Whitehurst, Walter     Missionary Drawer 48
File Williams, Edwin L, II     Missionary Drawer 48
File Wilson Inn     Files from Wilson Inn Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn     Files from Wilson Inn Drawer 47
File Wilson Inn & Pictures     Pictures of activities (mostly unidentifited_ Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn Articles of Incorporation     Corporate papers Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn - Virginia Trust Company     Inf on George Lumsden Estate & YWCA Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn Audit Reports     1956-1993 (missing years 1966, 1971, 1977, 1983, 1984, 1987, 1988) Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn Auditor's Opinion Letters     For years 1990, 1991, including engagement letter & reply Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn Budget Information     Years 1995-1996 Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn By-Laws     Original and revisions Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn Deed and Property Related Info     Legal Papers Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn Financial Reports     Reports 1987-1988-1994 (Incomplete) Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn History     Various materials covering history Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn Minutes     1947-1997 minutes (incomplete) Drawer 46
File Wilson Inn Property Insurance Manual     Women's Division Property Ins Reg. Drawer 46