Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rel 111 Research Guide: Articles & Books

This guide is intended to provide you support as you work through your "Interpreting the Text" assignment.

Searching for Print and eBooks

OneSearch Tutorial

The Library's Catalog

Much of your research can be done via OneSearch on the library's website.

OneSearch provides access to thousands of peer-reviewed, scholarly resources; many are full-text. Find the best information on your topic; you can limit your results (by date, source type, and full-text availability, etc.) to make searching easy. Because many articles are very specific, try a variety of keywords and subject searches. Take a look at the OneSearch tutorial for an overview. A librarian is happy to assist your research needs, just visit the library or use the available chat box to ask for help!

If you're only looking for books or e-books (not articles), you may want to give our Classic Catalog search a try. Watch the catalog tutorial on the left side for more information. 

Additional Databases

In addition to OneSearch, you may choose to search databases individually. A full list of databases can be found at http://ferrum.libguides.com/az.php. Below are the databases that you may want to search in addition to the comprehensive OneSearch.

Humanities International Complete: Provides full text of journals, books, abstracting, and other important reference sources in the humanities. Additionally, they provide cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles and full text of hundreds of journals, books, and other publications.

JSTOR is an electronic archive of the most important scholarly journals from over forty fields of study. Journal holdings typically include from the year the journal began to one to five years ago.

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive is completely searchable by topic, author, title and keyword, we have also put together a number of “Special Collections” that allow you to browse a selection of relevant articles on popular topics in one place. Take this opportunity to access excellent scholarship on specific topics, easily and quickly.

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.

Early American Imprints: 1639-1800 (Evans) which features 50,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in American between 1639 and 1800. Includes 1,100 supplemental works printed between 1670 and 1800 from the Library Company of Philadelphia.

Religious Magazine Archive‎ (1845 - 2015) is an archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries and a range of religions/denominations. Aimed originally at a wide audience, they disclose many aspects of the history of popular religious movements.