This one goes out to all the COM 304 students, journalism majors, media research lovers, and anyone else who is interested in these types of resources.
A great starting point for communication majors with information on all aspects of Communication, Mass Media and related fields. Includes notable author profiles.
Abstract database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, theses and dissertations and other sources. NOT ALL RESULTS ARE FULL-TEXT.
Find historic articles from Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. Coverage includes the Civil War and Reconstruction eras (1857-1877).
This database ontains more than 1.1 million records, with coverage dating back to 1931, with full text for over 525 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. NOT ALL RESULTS ARE FULL-TEXT.
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents. This database also provides an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags.
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 radio and news transcripts
The New York Times Academic Pass provides each Ferrum College student, faculty and staff member an online subscription to the nytimes.com site.
Access includes full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes mobile apps for any device, as well as their international editions. Each registered user has unlimited archival access to all years before 1923 and after 1980, and five articles per day for the years 1923-1980.
Provides access to all the information from 44 Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database, as well as to articles from approximately 375 leading magazines; many are peer reviewed.
Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. NOTE: Use the "Geographic Terms" option from the search drop-down to find news for a specific United States city or state.
Check here for newspaper articles from all over Virginia during the 18th and 19th centuries. The entries here make ideal primary resources for historical research.
Open Access Journals & Databases
AEJMC’s Research You Can Use - The AEJMC publishes the highly reputable Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly, which is not free (although our library keeps issues from 1975 to the present through EBSCO.) However, the Association provides articles-in-progress through this hot topics page that is open and online for you. This resource is a great way to get the very most current information on topics in media and communication.
Cogitatio Press's Media and Communication - is an international open-access journal dedicated to a wide variety of basic and applied research in communication and its related fields. Open Access: free to read and share, with an article processing charge for accepted papers to offset production costs (more details here). Indexing: Web of Science (SSCI), Scopus, and other databases
U.S. National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, which includes the very important database PubMed, is a leading resource for mostly open access information for health, biotechnology, science, and social issues research. This website also provides the raw data for analyzing issues yourself, as well as analytical tools used by leading researchers.
This link opens in a new window
