Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Major Organizations with Helpful Websites
Very Helpful, Reliable Websites
- ProCon.org - a great source for evaluating both sides of major social topics. The website is independent, non-profit website that is verified by attorneys and doctors and provides information with hyperlinks to the scholarly articles that are quoted.
- Online Qualitative Research Resources Homes - compiled by Dr. Susan Hawes of the Clinical Psychology Department at the Antioch University New England, this website provides useful links for finding qualitative research articles and performing your own qualitative research.
Open Access Journals & Databases
- AEJMC’s Resesarch You Can Use - The AEJMC publishes the highly reputable Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly, which is not free (although our library keeps issues from 1975 to the present through EBSCO.) However, the Association provides articles-in-progress through this hot topics page that are open and online for you. This resource is a great way to get the very most current information on topics in media and communication.
- Public Communication Review - From the University of Technology, Sydney, this peer-reviewed journal provides insight into how cultures internationally are affected by current media trends such as Twitter, gaming, and vaccination debates. Although this relatively new journal has few issues, it has a great search feature and is part of a larger open-access journal group from UTS that has many titles. (Check out the African Journal of Information and Communication Technology.)
- U.S. National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, which includes the very important database PubMed, is a leading resource for mostly open access information for health, biotechnology, science, and social issues research. This website also provides the raw data for analyzing issues yourself, as well as analytical tools used by leading researchers.
, Library Services
, Media and Communication
, Social Studies
, Theatre Arts