Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COM 304 (Communications Research): Very Helpful Resources

This one goes out to all the COM 304 students, journalism majors, media research lovers, and anyone else who is interested in these types of resources.

Try the OneSearch


Search Almost Everything
Limit Your Results

Advanced Search | Classic Catalog | Publication Finder | Write-N-Cite | Help

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Very Helpful Databases for Journalism Research

One day, when you are solving the world’s communications problems or producing award-winning journalism, these resources will cost you thousands of dollars, and you’ll be expected to use them. But while you’re in college, the library foots the bill, and you can take advantage of them for your research projects. We highly recommend it.

  • Business Source Complete covers topics related to economics, international business, management, and information systems. Over 2,700 full-text titles, plus 881 full-text peer-reviewed publications. You can search the database individually, or you can use the OneSearch option.
  • Communications & Mass Media Complete offers indexing and abstracts for over 300 communications journals; full-text for 200; and selected coverage for over 100 more. You can search the database individually, or you can use the One Search option.
  • FACTIVA is an excellent source for comprehensive business information. FACTIVA also has the full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, and journals. The “News Pages” section has the last few issues of key publications such as the Wall Street Journal. You can search the database individually, or you can use the One Search option.
  • New York Times is an index of articles from 1851 to the present. Contact me for access to the full text of the articles. Recent issues of the Times are available in the FACTIVA News Pages.
  • Newsbank Newspapers includes searchable full text of hundreds of papers from around the U. S. and the world.
  • Newspaper Source Plus provides access to over 28 million full text articles from 1,520 full-text newspapers. Also features over 600,00 transcripts from 600,000 tv, radio and podcast sources. You can search the database individually, or you can use the One Search option.
  • Polling the Nations Provides public opinion poll and survey results conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. NOTE: Although this resource is very valuable for unbiased statistics, it is tricky to use. Please don't hesitate to use the library chat to receive help from a librarian.

 

Very Helpful Print Resources in the Library

Call number ranges that are your friends in this class include: 

  • HM621-656 = Sociology - Culture
  • HM661-696 = Sociology - Social control
  • HM701 = Sociology - Social systems
  • HM706 = Sociology - Social structure 
  • HN1-995 = Social history and conditions. Social problems.
    Social reform
  • LB = Theory and practice of education
  • LC = Special aspects of education
  • P87-96 = Communication. Mass media
  • T10.5-11.9 = Communication of technical information
  • T58.5-58.64 = Information technology
  • TK5101-6720 = Telecommunication
  • ZA = Information Resources

  • Media and Communication Research Methods: An Introduction to Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches by Arthur Asa Berger is a recent text (2011) that can help you identify quantitative and qualitative research, as well as determine an article's authority. If you are interested in how scholarly research is performed or if you need to do your own research study, this book can be incredibly helpful. It's located at P91.3 .B385 2011 in the library, and let us know if you need help!
  • The Opposing Viewpoints series: One straightforward way to write a paper is to present two sides of a debate, and the Opposing Viewpoints series provides a series of books on different controversial topics and the differing views of these major topics. Issues such as gun control, gangs, and censorship are covered from many sides. These books are listed under many different LC call numbers; just plug in the terms “Opposing Viewpoints” into the catalog and select “Ferrum College” as the location to see what we have: http://library.acaweb.org/search
  • Writing for Visual Media by Anthony Friedmann, from the excellent media technology publisher Focal Press, provides some great guidelines for writing media scripts. Everything from sitcoms to video games is covered here, and Friedmann also provides some helpful tips for getting paid and writing professionally.
  • Media and Cultural Studies: Keyworks is an anthology of major works in the field that features important writers on topics such as social networking, international politics, and globalization. You can find this one on reserve for Prof. Roeper.
  • McQuail's Mass Communication Theory by Denis McQuail is a very important survey of Communication Research. Now in its sixth edition, McQuail devotes a lot of the text to research models, including quantitative and qualitative models, that have come to shape how journalists and communications scholars work. This volume is also on reserver for Prof. Roeper, and there is a circulating copy as well.

About the Professor

Contact Me!

Profile Photo
Sierra Alley
Contact:
150 Wiley Dr
Ferrum, VA 24088
540-365-6939
Website